Sat. Aug 15th, 2020

News Agency of Nigeria

No one knows Nigeria like NAN

NADCEL 2020: Gen. Udoh, 6 other officers, 9 soldiers bag commendation awards

2 min read

Minister of Defence, Maj.-Gen. Salihi Magashi, decorates officers and soldiers for outstanding performance

By Sumaila Ogbaje

The Chief of Training and Operations, Nigerian Army, Maj.-Gen. Enobong Udoh, has won the Chief of Army Staff’s Commendation Award alongside six other officers and nine soldiers for outstanding performance in operations and innovations.

The  NewsAgency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the commendation award and unveiling of the book titled, “Compendium of Nigerian Army Transformation; Buratai’s years, 2015-2020 is the climax of the activities lined up to commemorate the 2020 NADCEL.

The event, which has the theme, “Nigeria’s Territorial Defence and Sovereignty; Imperatives for Nigerian Army’s Sustainable Training and Operation”, started on July 1.

Udoh was awarded for his forthrightness and exemplary leadership in planning and execution of operations that had yielded tremendous success across the theaters of operation.

Other officers awarded include the Commander, 107 Division Equipment Support, Brig.-Gen. Babatunde Alaya, who designed and fabricated the made in Nigeria Mine Resistance Ambush Protected (MRAP) vehicles in Maiduguri.

Alaya was recognised for his ingenuity and innovation in developing local solution to the equipment needs of the Nigerian army.

Also, Col. Damian Deke was recognised for leading the research and development centre of the Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria (DICON).

While Lt.-Col. Emmanuel Ekan and Lt.-Col. Ibrahim Mohammed were recognised for operational efficiency and gallantry against terrorists in the North East, Lt.-Col. Yusuf Salisu was recognised for facilitation and execution of projects in his unit.

Capt. Ado Ibrahim was conferred with the commendation award for research, development and manufacture of combat vehicles at DICON such as Ezugwu MRAP and other patrol vehicles.

In the soldiers’ categories, four warrant officers, two staff sergeants, one Sergeant, one Lance corporal and one private soldiers were recognised for innovations, gallantry and bravery in the discharge of their duties.

The Chief of Army Staff, Lt.-Gen. Tukur Buratai, commended the officers and soldiers for their commitment to the defence of the country.

Buratai urged the awardees to sustain the hard work that had earned them the awards and enjoined those who were not recognised to strive more towards achieving the height.